About Us

About the North Island Rhododendron Society

The North Island Rhododendron Society, a Chapter of the American Rhododendron Society, was founded in 1984 with the society’s charter received on October 20, 1984.  There were 13 founding memberships, including our current members Gwen Wright and Judith Walker.

Membership interest grew almost as fast as the plants, and by the summer of 1985 there were 26 regular memberships and 4 associate memberships. In recent years, our annual membership has averaged about 75 regular with 5 associate members.

Our chapter is one of seven chapters of the ARS (American Rhododendron Society) in British Columbia, including four others on Vancouver Island and two more on the lower mainland.


2019-2020 Board of Directors

At our AGM held each May, some director’s terms expire and elections are held to fill those positions.  Terms are for two (2) years, and commence on July 1st each year. Below are the officers for this year’s term.

Rhodo Sign Oval

President -Maureen Denny
Vice President – Dave Godfrey
Secretary – Carolyn Chester
Treasurer – Noni Godfrey
Director – Judy Walker
Director – Nadine Boudreau
Director – Aubrey Ferris
Director – Antje Guertler